one year away from home (2005-01-31 - 3:00 p.m.)

Last day at a horrible boring job! And it's Monday! I'm sure motivated to work hard!

It's all I can do to not start snapping at the partners like they've been snapping at me for the last two months. I will be so very pleased to never see this office ever again.

I have been chastised for not actually mentioning what my new job is. No big secret, though it's not too exciting. It's at a three-star hotel on Princes Street, working as their reservationist. (As a side note, I find it amusing that half the people I tell about getting a full-time job at a hotel say, "Oh, are you working as a chambermaid?") Anyway, it does sound like there might be responsibility involved, which would be a breath of fresh air after all these temp jobs that a chimp could manage. I have no idea what this new one will be like, but the fact that there's training involved implies that they will be training me FOR something.

I start tomorrow. Here's hoping it's all right.

Had a pretty good weekend, despite the fact that we didn't get to go to a ceilidh. It's the one-year anniversary of my leaving of home, which is very weird. Been a heck of a year, really. And I never really planned to stay this long!

Went to the Lacrosse Burns Supper on Friday night. It was much less formal than the BUNAC one, as it was at Gus the Goalie's flat. There must have been at least 20 people there, but we just pushed a bunch of tables together and sat wherever we could find room. Large splodges of haggis, neeps and tatties were served, with whisky and shortbread for dessert. Had a good time at the party, as I hadn't really talked to most of the team prior to that. They're a pretty good bunch. I was talking to a girl who has her MD as well as her PhD studying movement disorders. She was on a plane back to Britain from New Zealand when she heard the dreaded phrase, "Is there a doctor on the plane?" Some guy had keeled over, but the poor doctor was on sleeping pills herself and in pretty terrible shape! So she had to make a decision about whether or not to land the plane early to get the guy some help while completely drugged up and out of it herself. She shuddered just telling the story. In the end she decided to just monitor the guy and keep going, and luckily he was fine.

I stayed up possibly a little too late on Friday night at the party, but had to work Saturday anyway due to being too wimpy to say no to the extra hours at the golf course. Went out Saturday night with the Canucks. Everyone was tired and/or sick, though, so we went home before the band started. The bouncer at the door said, "You're off early tonight, girls." Apparently we're now regulars at Drop-Kick Murphy's!

Also, Shannon looked under someone's kilt. It's harder than you would think, given the six zillion yards of material at the back. She had to lift up armloads of it. He was too drunk to notice. When he finally did clue in, he tried to kiss her.

Yesterday I had a bit of a dinner party. Lysianne made me dinner a few weeks back so I had her over by way of repayment (also she's barely working 20 hours most weeks and is living on Pot Noodles - she needs feeding up!) Shannon and Jen came as well, and Craig and Pia stuck around for the free food.

Having worked with a pretty experienced chef, I'm aware that most meals should have a sort of theme - the different courses should fit well together in terms of origin and style of cooking.

This was not that sort of meal.

We had my favorite homemade mushroom soup for a starter, then Pad Thai (minus the beansprouts because I forgot them) for the main course, and scones with jam and clotted cream for dessert. Completely random. It tasted good, though.

In other news, my parents are back from Cuba. They said they had a pretty good trip, but they got back to hear a whole bunch of acquaintances had died. There's been a lot of that happening in Rocky lately. "Man is born to trouble as the sparks fly upward..." It's pretty depressing. In non-death-related news, some people I went to school with had a baby. They are the most annoyingly conventional people I know, but congratulations to them anyway. (My mother got very annoyed with me when I said this. "So what, now having a baby is conventional?" Only in this case, because if it wasn't this particular couple would never have done it.)

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(0 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand