by popular (?) demand... (2006-03-23 - 8:38 a.m.)

I hesitate to post this ancient family recipe (my grandma told it to me verbatim out of her head) but I'm sure she would want me to share the baking-joy.

Grandma's Bun Recipe:

Mix together 2 tbsp fast-rising yeast and around 4 cups flour.

Add to a mixture of:

3 cups lukewarm water
2/3 cup white sugar
1/3 cup oil (6 tbsp)
1 1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs

mixed well together. Blend well. Add flour until you get a workable dough.

Round well and let rise 15 minutes. (Note: cover with a damp dishcloth to stop it drying out).

Punch down and let rise again 15 minutes or so.

Punch down and form into buns. Put on a greased pan, cover, and let rise.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 20 minutes or until done. Makes 4 or 5 dozen buns. (Recipe can be halved).

To make taco buns, make the dough and fill with (cooked!) taco meat and cheese. I have also had good results with ham and cheese and a mixed vegetable filling (when I had a vegetarian roommate). Flatten out a circle of dough, put filling in the middle, close two sides together, pull the ends into the middle and pinch the seams closed. Fun!

Spent last night at Steve's watching a Fat Boys music video and getting cat hair on my clothing. He bought the video at a sale because it had a note on it saying, "Warning: this will BLOW YOUR MIND!" And boy, did it. So much so that we had to watch it twice.

And Derek went up at least ten cool points in my estimation by revealing that he was once in a Fat Boys air band.

And finally, please note that the Intrepid (or Decrepid) is not in fact "stuck", as this is un-Albertan. It is merely having a quiet rest in the snow. Thank you.

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(14 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand