I can only aspire to be one of the great unknowns (2007-05-24 - 4:08 p.m.)

So May Long has been and gone. I waited months for last weekend, and it was not in vain. Went down to the cabin (see photo above) to burn lots of things in the fireplace and paddle around on the lake. And despite the weather, I managed both of those things and was a very happy camper.

They had a Giant Cop-Party Roadblock out on the highway west of Rocky on the way out to the Lake. I've never seen anything quite like it - all traffic was stopped going all four directions on the highway intersection. There were cop cars everywhere, parked helter-skelter all over the road. They stopped us, of course (since I didn't go along with Liam's idea of pulling a U-turn in the middle of the highway to avoid the line-up) (most likely just as well) and I rolled down my window. The cop shone her flashlight in my eyes and asked me if we had any alcohol in the car. "Yesssss..."

"Where is it?"

"In the trunk." (Please don't ask to look - we barely managed to tamp down our stuff enough to get it closed as it was...)

"Hmmmm.... and where are you from?"

This is where I panicked a little as I never know how to answer this question.

"Rocky... er, Edmonton...er, Rocky!"

The cop gave a triumphant smirk. "There's a BIG DIFFERENCE between those two!"

argh.

Anyway, she let us go despite the fact that I apparently can't figure out my hometown (and/or answer awkwardly-worded questions on the fly), and the trip was great thereafter. Weather was rubbish, mind you. However, there were fires to be made and trashy romance novels to be read, and I for one had a very good time. On Sunday there was a giant hailstorm and the power went out. The lightening flashed through the skylights and the thunder cracked right above our heads. However, we stoked up the fire and put some tealights in cups and enjoyed the fact that we were warm and dry as the storm raged. It was lovely.

In other news, these are funny in an excellently nerdy way. Also here is an article about my ancestor Ben, "one of the great unknowns". How's that for a phrase to be remembered by??

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(6 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand