feverish dreams (2007-01-10 - 10:50 a.m.)

Yet another fever. Why this year has my body suddenly decided to deal with every stray bacteria by trying to burn it out? Having a war raging in your body all night is not so fun. I'm freezing and then I can't stand to have anything covering me. My skin hurts to touch and my clothes are soaked. And then if I can adjust temperature enough to get to sleep the dreams start....

They were probably worse than usual last night because I was reading Wicked before bed. But it doesn't matter, because I got up and read a 1999 copy of People magazine about the Brady Bunch (please do not ask why I have such a thing on hand) and then I had scary repetitive dreams about the Brady Bunch. And oh, I wish I were kidding. Stuff just goes round and round in my head and if I wake up I fall back into the same dream...

At any rate, there were severe blizzard warnings for today and I cannot tell by looking out my window how bad it is. Maybe nobody else went to work either! However, I will try to go in for this afternoon as I have been sick a lot lately and I think they are getting annoyed. (Though not as annoyed as I am, let me assure you.)

Hmmm, other things must have been happening lately, prior to yet another disease. Oh yes... Lego! Steph and I went to the exhibit at the museum of scale-model Edmonton buildings composed entirely of Lego. We were very impressed and also seized with a desire to build something. Luckily I know someone who has a giant chest full of Lego as the centrepiece of his living room!

Fired up the slow cooker this weekend. Made kind of an interesting stew. Let us just say that I probably need some practice. I have the giant 7-quart can-barely-lift-it version, so I will blame it on that... just need to learn to scale the amount of food properly, that's all. But never mind, Judith ate it and claimed to enjoy it, and I actually quite like it. But just think - if I can get this to work the way I envision it, dinner will be done when I walk in the door after work!

It would seem that I have "Molly Malone" stuck in my head (Tim was once in a choir that sang this song and it has imprinted itself on my brain.)

"She died of a faver*
And no one could save her
And that was the end of sweet Molly Malone
Now her ghost wheels her barrow
Through streets broad and narrow
Crying, 'Cockles and mussels, alive alive-o'"

*gotta do the fake Irish accent

At least I haven't died of my fever... yet....

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(8 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand