awae wi' the fairies (2005-01-12 - 1:09 p.m.)

I had a dream last night that I was home for a month, and I was having a great time. In the dream I was supposed to come back to Scotland in two days and I really didn't want to leave. Then I woke up and couldn't figure out where I was... Turned out it wasn't home. I was quite disappointed.

Speaking of home, this from my dad (aka the Old Geezer):

Anne: A word from the old geezer:
Being stereotypically Canadian (I had to copy and paste that big word) is not a bad thing. The no flag on the backpack disappoints me a bit. Be proud to be Canadian, prouder to be Albertan, and even (well not prouder, but more determined) to be REDNECK !

Sadly (or happily), though, it would seem that the farther you get from Alberta (unless perhaps you go to Texas or something) the more the redneckness leaks out of you. For some reason all the fashion addicts here are suddenly wearing cowboy boots; maybe I'll pick up a pair to add that little extra bit of redneck to my wardrobe. I already have a gingham shirt! (courtesy of Rem and Steph at Christmas).

An interesting note on the word geezer - turns out it means something completely different here than it does at home:
In the U.K.: A guy, a bloke, a person in general. The British equivalent of the American slang word "dude". Can also imply more specific qualities, ie. a confident man with masculine qualities, very much 'laddish' in nature.

In Canada.: An old man, particularly one who is either cranky or eccentric. Rather derogatory term.

(In case you were wondering, yes my father IS cranky and eccentric, actually. He takes pride in it.)

Got some good news this week. They're publishing my paper!!! ("My" as in Alinda and Marcia's, with me as third author. But hey - I'm happy!) It's in a good journal too, the Journal of Experimental Psychology: General. It should come out in May. Very pleased.

Continuing with the redneck theme, I saw a pickup truck on Princes Street today. I actually had to stop and stare at it. You just don't see them here - ever. Wee cars, yes. Busses, yes. Bin lorries (garbage trucks), yes. But never ever pickups. Same with baseball caps, though they were suddenly fashionable for a bit there. Saw one of those yesterday too.

You know what really annoys me? People who call YOU and then put you on hold. Also when the lady I work with gives me the wrong information and I pass it on to a caller. Then she suddenly realises she was wrong, takes over the call and tells them I got it wrong!

Also horrible old Dutch men who mess with my friends' bikes and say nasty things.


Useful Scottish phrase of the day: "Awae w' the fairies" (Definition: dreamy, out of it, not very practical - as applied to Bez of Celebrity Big Brother by my office-mate). (I watched Celebrity Big Brother once, because Germaine Greer was on it and I was curious what the heck a rather well-respected academic and writer was doing on Celebrity Big Brother. Still haven't figured it out, but I've definitely figured out that it's not worth watching.)

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(0 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand