one week & counting (2004-09-20 - 6:04 p.m.)

I woke up this morning and it was snowing and the power was out. Also, I was feeling very, very sick. Of course now it's decided to be a gorgeous, sunshiny fall day, with the usual capriciousness of Rocky weather. I'm still sick, though. Ah well - perhaps it will go away in the next week. I've stocked up on vitamin B again (Steph swears it keeps her immune system working even when she's stressed).

Got to stay out at the cabin at Crimson this weekend with Darren. I was so happy just to be there. It's my favorite place in the world (so far - haven't seen nearly all of it yet!) The weather was kind of cold so we mostly just huddled in the vicinity of the woodstove. Its name is Cheerful (embossed in large letters on the top) and it used to belong to my grandma's mom. So nice and cozy, especially watching the rain fall on the skylights.

Grandma and Barb are back from Yellowknife and getting psyched to stage their whirlwind tour of England. We got out an atlas last night and tried to work out an itinerary - no easy feat, as Barb has a list of ten or fifteen people she'd like to see! I don't know if I'll be able to travel with them much. It would be entertaining (that's a given) and interesting to meet some of these relatives, but I have to get to Scotland at some point and make some cash. However, depending where they stop first, I may tag along for the first little bit.

I still haven't done nearly everything on my getting-ready-to-go list. Being sick has slowed me down a lot. Some things really really need to be done (travel insurance!) but the world will likely not end if I don't get to all of them. At least, that's what I try to tell myself...

ps. addendum to last post, from Rob the Knowledgable:

Hi, Anne. :)

Just read your last journal entry (sorry, I haven't been keeping up)... in tennis, "love" means 0 because a 0 looks sort of like an egg, and "the egg" in French is "l'oeuf", which sounds like "love". So it's like calling a score of zero "goose egg", which I've heard.

Doesn't make much more sense than the rest of the scoring system, but at least it comes from *somewhere*.

I hope everything's coming together for your trip...

Thanks, Rob!

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(0 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand