Finally saw the castle (2005-04-10 - 4:01 p.m.)

I went to Edinburgh Castle today! Yep, only took me six months of looking up at it wistfully to actually go inside. I estimate that I managed to see about a third of what there was to see. But don't worry, I'll be back. (Free entry with a Historic Scotland membership, which is the best thing ever!) Anyone want to go see Edinburgh Castle? I would be happy to come with you!

My favorite parts so far: the dank dark gloomy bit under the Half-Moon Battery, which is the remains of David's Tower, and the dog cemetary.

I also couldn't help but notice that they have one of the cannons pointed directly at the hotel. Wonder how hard it would be to fire one of those off...? Hmmmm, tempting. Put that place out of its misery.

Anyway, yes. Castle great. Go see castle. Take me with you. New plan: stop by every time someone's in town, or I have a free Saturday or Sunday and nothing much else to do. At the very least, it's the prime tourist-watching place in the city!

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(0 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand