No more holidays, but at least the sun's out (2005-11-09 - 5:01 p.m.)

The sun is out! It is now a gorgeous autumn day � just a bit of a chill in the air but blue skies and sunshine. Sucks that I am stuck inside and that it will be dark before I emerge. However, did get outside for a wee bit at lunch and got some Vitamin D.

I�ve been taking short lunches to save up some time on flex. Via a rather convoluted process we worked out that if I leave Dec 16 I am effectively working half a month in December, meaning I get one day�s holiday for that month rather than two. (I love Britain � will be so sad to go back to Canada�s antiquated ideas about one day off every six months or something rather than two a month). Those of you who have been paying attention will realise that I�m actually flying to Vancouver on Dec 11 while agreeing to work until Dec 16. It�s because HR appears to round holiday accumulation up or down by the half-month, so if I leave Dec 9 I miss out a day�s holiday. Instead I decided to take all my left-over holidays in that last week, effectively adding a week onto my contract. Which unfortunately means no more holidays before I leave� Hence the extra flex and no time outside in the sun. It will all be worth it someday though. If I can save up the time I will leave a couple of hours early on my birthday next week (since I can�t take it off outright). It�s amazing how easy it is to build up time if you do 15 extra minutes here and there.

Despite the fact that this is a three-day week, it seems as long as ever. Probably just that old Wednesday feeling again. I�m having Brad and his sister over for dinner tonight. She researches whales in Antarctica � how cool is that?! I hope she has lots of good whale stories (although Brad says she mostly talks about her dog). She�s a vege and Brad was very whiny about having taken her to dinner with another friend and being fed lentils and chickpeas. Therefore, I�m not even going to try any fancy vegetarian dishes and will stick with the tried and tested macaroni & cheese It�s not exactly a company dish � more a feed-them-something-quick dish � but too bad, comfort food is called for and this one happens to not contain meat.

I printed off a calendar today and was alarmed to see how few days I have (although I can guarantee the weekdays will seem endless). One major concern is going to be training someone to do my not-difficult-but-complicated job. I have three full weeks left, which is not a heck of a lot of time to train someone. With this in mind I am writing a ridiculously step-by-step explanation of exactly what I do, so just in case I have no time for training whoever replaces me won�t be completely lost. Maybe. Oh lucky temp, who gets to sample the fruit of my knowledge! I really hope they�re planning on getting someone in soon, though, for everyone�s sake.

Here is a sample itinerary for Friday.
4.00 am � wrench myself out of bed
4.30 am � leave house
4.50 am � catch airporter bus (if in fact it goes to schedule)
5.15 am � check in
5.25-5.50 am � drink too much coffee
6.15 am (I hope � this IS Globespan) � fly to Stansted
7.40 am � arrive at Stansted
8.20 am � train to Cambridge.
8.48 � 9.12 am � Stomp around train station cursing rail network that does not go directly to Norwich
10.29 am � arrive in Norwich. Immediately go for nap.

Norfolk here I come!

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(0 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand