winterpics (2006-03-30 - 10:50 p.m.)

Went to the ballet today. For free! With free food! (They are trying to attract young people in the hopes that some day we will be old people with money who will want to spend it on the ballet). The ballet was "Alice in Wonderland" and it was pretty charming. The costumes were wonderful and despite a few lulls (dancy dancy frilly flowers leaping about for hours on end) I enjoyed it a lot. There was a lot of broad physical humour which I did not expect to see at at a ballet. And Tweedledum and Tweedledee were perfect, exactly like the illustrations.

Only trouble was I have this nasty cough... (yes, once again). I HATE spending an entire performance trying to stifle it, but it seems to happen an awful lot. sigh.

At least I wasn't whispering the entire time like the stout ladies seated directly behind me.

I came home, still coughing, and Rene insisted on making me two cups of tea with lemon and honey, because that's his grandma's remedy for a cold. And I never argue with peoples' grandmas. They KNOW. I will be sad when Rene goes back to Germany, which is the current plan. He's hard to get to know, but well worth the effort. Today I learned the story of how his family escaped from East Germany... his mother married a random guy from West Germany just to get herself and her kids across. She divorced him the moment the Wall came down. That story gave me pause for thought, as it seems strange to me that it happened in the lifetime of someone more or less my age. So far removed from my quiet corner of the prairies.

March in Edmonton:

Sometimes I really love winter in this town


especially in the midnight hush.

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(5 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand