trapped (2005-06-23 - 9:45 a.m.)

Trapped in Rocky...

Not that I mind being in Rocky during the normal course of things, but I'm dying to get back up to Edmonton because that's where practically everyone I know lives. But events have been conspiring against me (notably a terribly-scheduled dentist appointment today and a lack of transportation) and even though it's only a few hours drive I can't get there. I forgot how bad public transportation is in this country... if you don't have a car, you can't go. It sucks being so close to people I want to see and yet have no way of actually getting there. I'm still scheming, but I leave in two days and I can't see it happening. Wish I had more time, and/or a car.

However, since I can't leave I spent yesterday poking around Grandma's house and found some interesting stuff. It's very bizarre in there, a combination of the house when Grandma had it (packed to the gills with foodstuffs, mostly) and a very messy swinging bachelor pad due to Tim living there at the moment. The house will likely be sold by the time I'm back, I guess, so this might be my only chance to rummage through. I made it through the bedroom and a bit of the basement and had to give up - there are an overwhelming number of boxes in that place!

In other news, I'm learning how to knit. Ever since Will took it up I've been thinking about it, although I think I will leave the sock-knitting to him. I just want to have a project to work on that requires a minimum of tools, and you can't get much more basic and portable than two needles and a ball of yarn.

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(0 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand