oh what a tangled web we weave, when first we knit (2005-11-11 - 7:34 p.m.)

I made it safely to Surlingham, AND remembered to bring almost everything, AND did not lose anything (yet - knock wood) AND made all my connections perfectly and in lots of time.

Nothing makes me feel more like a grown-up.

This does mean, however, that the trip back is probably doomed to delays and missed connections.

I managed to tire myself out at the gym and then get to bed at a decent hour last night, so I actually feel pretty good today. The waits at Stansted and at Cambridge were short and the trains weren't crowded, and Peter was on hand to pick me up.

He and Diane took me for lunch at an enormous manor house turned hotel. We had the carvery, and I took great delight in eating all the wrong condiments with the wrong meat. Ham and Yorkshire pudding and gravy and cranberry sauce - delicious! (I also had sushi on the train at 9 am - don't know, I was craving it and had been up for hours, so it felt like about time).

Now Diane is teaching me to knit. Mom and Will (the superior knitter of the family) have both attempted this, but no one had yet bothered to teach me to cast on and off. We shall see if I remember any of it later. Diane also said my technique is all wrong, so we will be working on that. Inefficient, she says. I shall practice.

Also, it's November 11. We did our two minutes of silence along with the BBC.

In Flanders Fields, the poppies grow...

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(0 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand