supermodels are dumb (2005-10-11 - 5:39 p.m.)

Dreich is the only way to describe today. (Scroll down on the link). Grey and misty and steady, steady pouring rain. It never varies its tempo and it�s not looking to ever end.

However, (and I think this means I�ve been here too long), it�s oddly comforting. At least it�s a nice steady sort of rain, and it�s making the autumn-coloured trees and the nice green (in October!) grass look pretty.

I will not be feeling this way once I�m outside getting my feet soaked, though. My expensive new boots have given me blisters and I�m waiting for them to subside before I try wearing them again.

But for the moment, it�s kind of nice being inside watching the rain pour down.

There was an interview with Linda Evangelista (supermodel woman from back in the day) in today�s Metro. She was born in Canada and has done all Canadians a huge favour by recording the following interview:

Interviewer: What are the best things about being Canadian?

Linda: I don�t know but I�m really proud to be Canadian � I really think Canadians are very nice people.

I: They have a reputation for being quite dull though, haven�t they?

L: We�re not dull! We�re not dull at all! We�ve got major talent in Canada! Same-sex marriages are legal in Canada � there�s a lot of good stuff coming out of Canada. I�d rather be Canadian than come from some other country. I�m very proud of it.

Gee, thanks, Linda. You are proud to be Canadian but can�t think of why (except that we�re �nice�, which doesn�t make us sound dull at all). You think lots of �good stuff� comes from Canada but can�t give an example of such good stuff. And if you are an example of Canada�s �major talent� then I am worried indeed. Sheesh.

Good ol� Linda has probably single-handedly convinced most Brits that not only are we terminally dull, we don�t have much by way of brains either. AND I BEG TO DIFFER! We are not all supermodels.

(Clearly).

I have been thinking about things I will miss about the UK and it makes me sad. However, Lucy from Ontario (who sits across from me at work) spontaneously started giving me a list of things she can�t wait to get back to today. Her list:

1. Normal-sized refridgerators. Not having to squish food for three people into a bar fridge! Luxury.
2. Window screens.
3. Double glazing fitted as standard.

She definitely has a point (three, in fact) and I suppose keeping that in mind will make it easier to leave.

Meanwhile, back out into the rain�

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(0 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand