party crasher (2006-02-11 - 10:40 a.m.)

I crashed a frat party!

I'm sorry, I've always wanted to be able to say that. Back in second year I was invited to one (by someone really annoying, surprise surprise) but was way too terrified to go. But now we have a frat house across the street - lucky us - and when I got home last night they were keeping the neighborhood up. So I grabbed my roommate Case and we headed over. Nobody said a word (no one poured us a drink, though, either). And then I got chatted up by really drunk first-years for a while and then we got bored and left.

I don't know why I thought it would be cool to go to a frat party way back in the day, since I always thought frat boys were wankers (these ones did not disprove that. And they were happy to believe I was in second-year uni as well) - but it appears that should I so desire, I now have a steady supply of crashable frat parties right across the lawn.

So life has been very tiring lately. I forgot how much all this standing and running for eight hours kills you - I've done it, but a few months at a desk job erases all your standing stamina fairly effectively. I'm usually exhausted by the time I get home (and they've been giving me the late shifts as well, so I don't get back till 10.30 pm). VV itself is a pretty decent place to work - the sheer amusement value of the clothes makes it quite enjoyable - but I don't think I really want to do it for a living so much. However, it's a source of income so it's all good.

I've also been going to interviews, which have not amounted to much (also depressing) and am trying to psych myself up for the next round of application-sending.

I repeat: if Alberta is this short of workers, why can I not get a better job?! The short answer, of course, is that it's only the rubbish jobs that are short of workers. Sigh.

Went out to the Atlantic Trap and Gill last night, the Newfie bar. One of my favorite places - laid back and always fun, and good (or really bad, depending) live music. I think I may have to make that a monthly event.

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(8 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand