Life is an icy, icy highway (2006-10-29 - 8:00 p.m.)

Brrrrrr, winter is here. I am in Rocky and I think I'm stuck here. The roads weren't great on the way down (sleet and fog) but weren't horrible - but overnight we got both freezing rain and six inches of snow. We skidded our way to church this morning and I couldn't get the ice scraped off Mabel when it was time to leave. Checked the Alberta Motor Association website and they weren't recommending travel on any of the roads between here and Edmonton - so I gave it up and stayed in Rocky. Luckily I can log on to work from here, so I got a couple of hours of work done this afternoon and will start back to the city early tomorrow.

I walked in the door on Friday and Mom said hi and how was the trip. Dad said, "Dunce sounds about right to me!" We both looked at him blankly until he said, "I thought you said you look like Kirsten Dunce!" and ran off cackling.

Clearly he has been waiting around all week to use that one.

Sunday joke:

Q: How many Anglicans does it take to change a lightbulb?

A: ... Change?????

I like the new priest. The church shares her with the Evangelical Lutheran church down the road. Strange liturgical bedfellows, to be sure, but it seems to be working... and, as I said, she is cool.

So one more night at home means one more night of mom's delicious food (not to mention multiple viewings of The Office - the British version, of course). Still not looking forward to the drive tomorrow, but it may well be worth it.

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(2 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand