fury of the dodgeball and landlord varieties (2007-06-20 - 5:45 p.m.)

Well! That was somewhat of a tumultuous week. Landlord trouble, mostly. They heard that I am not planning to renew my lease and promptly gave me notice that THEY would not be renewing it before I got a chance to officially notify them. They then proceeded to attempt to get me to agree to let them show someone my place - she called me two minutes after they emailed the notice of non-renewal of the lease and asked if she could bring someone to see the place - two hours after the conversation. Umm.... NO!

So I demanded 24 hours written notice of anyone entering my flat (figured that would at least give me time to clean up somewhat, ahem). They countered this with a lovely letter giving notice that they might or might not be entering my apartment June 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 23, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29 or 30, between 10 am and 7.30 pm.

GRRRRRRRR I was so angry! Cue many hours of ranting and close readings of the landlord-tenant laws in Alberta. I was all set to call the landlord-tenant advisory board and really kick up a fuss, but then the landlord called and politely asked if he could show someone the place that night between 4.30 and 5pm. So apparently they are actually planning to do the decent thing and call to ask if they can show the place at a given time. Still, I am not impressed and am NOT recommending any more friends to these guys (even if the rent's cheap and location's great). So not worth it. What's all this showing the place in June for a September rental, anyway? You cannot tell me it's that hard to get tenants that you would be stressed if you hadn't rented it three months in advance.

Things I did/will do this week that I have never done before:
- attended an improv show
- joined a city-league Dodgeball team
- slept in a teepee

The improv show was part of Improvaganza, surprisingly NOT initiated by Erik (though he was certainly along for the ride). Funny and entertaining and there was red licorice.

The dodgeball team is called Fury of 1000 Balls and is organized by an officemate. A new, fun, likeable officemate (yay!) We play tomorrow. And yes, he has been duly warned of the level of my dodgeball skillz (low to non-existent) and the last time I played (roughly 1991).

And the teepees are part of a weekend excursion that will hopefully encompass some hotsprings, some hiking, and some very delicious food.

Last and certainly far from least - got to see Lucinda Williams last Friday! ooooh, such a good show. She has a heck of a powerful voice, which surprised me somewhat. Very warm and friendly (and gushy about her fiance - cute!) and although late, she attempted to make it up to the audience. Yay live music.

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(0 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand