darkness falls in Edinburgh (2004-11-02 - 6:47 p.m.)

Bah. Check out this email from Steph:

Because I don't have much to do today and I was checking time zone stuff for Michelle, here's a summary of the sunrise and sunset times of some cities around the globe where we're situated:

Edinburgh: 7:23am - 4:30pm -- 9 hrs, 7 mins
Edmonton: 7:36am - 4:58 pm -- 9 hrs, 22 mins
Amsterdam: 7:39am - 5:09 pm -- 9 hrs, 30 mins
Taipei: 6:02am - 5:12pm -- 11 hrs, 10 mins

And just think, it's still got a ways to go before it improves! Yee hah!

Steph

Whatever possessed me to move so far north?? Oh yeah, the gorgeousness of this city and my love for Scottish accents. Right... I suppose it's worth the dark and the cold, but I could do with a little more light at the moment! Possibly I should go to Taipei.

In better, in fact extremely excellent news, I got three pieces of mail today! Two of them birthday cards and one letter (yes, of course I opened them right away - Steph is not here to stop me!) Yay for mail and double yay for birthdays, especially if you can make them stretch for weeks on end by opening your mail as it comes!

Applied for three jobs today, only one of which I actually really want (at the University of Edinburgh! Just more office stuff, though). Figure I may as well apply for everything, as anything paying a decent amount would be a step in the right direction. This is kind of exhausting, but it must be done if I want to be done with dishpan hands and black pudding rolls! (One of which was ordered five minutes before I left today, and after the chef was gone. GRRRRR.) I've been quite disciplined, going into town and looking for work in the mornings, then writing applications at night. I hope it pays off...

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(0 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand