Corb rocks (2005-09-29 - 9:45 a.m.)

The new Corb Lund CD rocks! (or should that be �countries�?) Thanks so much to my family for sending it. Only trouble is, it�s making me extremely homesick for those prairies and foothills. Everybody sing along now:

�Hurtin� Albertan, with nothing more to lose,
Too much oil money, not enough booze
East of the Rockies and west of the rest
Do my best to do my damndest and that�s just about all I guess.�

The Hurtin� Albertans, by the way, have the second-best downhome band name (coming in just after The Three Musty Steers, from Rocky Mountain House, Alberta).

Haven�t heard a word from the bro (Tim, of course- Will�s been in touch, oddly enough) which doesn�t hugely surprise me. He�s under instruction to call my mobile and let me know his weekend plans, but I�m willing to bet he doesn�t yet know them himself. This makes it very difficult to make my own weekend plans, though. I am in suspense.

It has been a quiet week at Comely Bank Road, with Brandon gone. I�ve enjoyed having the house (mostly) to myself, though. Had Andrew over for dinner yesterday in an attempt to force some veg into him. He�s the least healthy person I�ve ever met, and it�s all (I�m convinced) because of his typically Scottish diet of white bread, cheese and Irn Bru. He wouldn�t eat dessert (apple crisp: had a �funny texture� apparently) but was happy with dinner even though it had a slight burnt aftertaste. Oops.

I am trying to decide if I should go to lacrosse tonight. I�m not sure about running on my stupid ankle (still larger than the other, still making funny noises, still sore on and off) and� well, I�m bad at lacrosse and Jen won�t be there to make me feel better about it. On the other hand I did enjoy it last year and the exercise and company are always good. And �30 for half a year is pretty good. Will end up deciding at five minutes before, as usual.

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(0 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand