brit-phrases (2005-10-14 - 4:28 p.m.)

I just realised I used the phrase, "fitted as standard", which is one of those Brit-phrases that I find so amusing and yet tend to sneak into my speech. They tend to be used a lot in advertising copy. This morning was the first frosty day of winter (well, autumn) and I also found myself thinking, "Look at all the Edinburghers in their woolly hats - it's not THAT cold" before having to mentally correct myself. TUQUES, they're wearing tuques. I never thought I would ever use the phrase �woolly hat�, even mentally, and I am not impressed.

Other strange Brit-phrases:
Spoilt for choice
That little bit more
Have a go
Only too happy

I think these phrases amuse me so much because they�re so darn peppy. They reek of that sort of jolly-hockey-sticks British stiff upper lip attitude and they make me laugh. �Only too happy to help, sir! We always do that little bit more.� But as I�m probably the only one, I�ll shut up now.

It�s becoming increasingly clear that I will never get a job in diplomatic relations. I think I drive my supervisor crazy with my habit of being, shall we say, extremely straightforward. I�ve never seen much point in beating around the bush (although I can be discreet if need be) but I don�t think my bluntness always goes over well.

That said she told me today I�m doing an excellent job. Too bad it�s not within her power to extend my visa� because the British government doesn�t care how good a job I do. They just want me out. Not that I�m bitter. (ha.) Just not ready to go home.

backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(0 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand