believe in yourself & you can achieve anything, etc etc (2006-03-05 - 10:26 a.m.)

I really, really hate it when you are having a rough week of working 60 hours and people say, "There there, it will all be worth it when you get paid." Nothing more annoying.

However.

That being said... I just got paid and suddenly life is a lot better. I earned a lot more in February than I thought, in fact, what with the extra from temping for the Psych Department and the stat holiday (and insane number of hours) I worked at VV. And since the real job pays bi-weekly, I am suddenly pretty sorted and (if I don't go on too many CD sprees) can probably get rid of most or all of my unemployment debt by the end of the month. Huzzah!

The double-job thing is going all right, sort of. It is incredibly hard to haul myself in for the second shift (or the eight hours on Saturdays) but once I'm there it's not exactly difficult. It generally goes pretty fast. That said, I can feel the imminent burnout sneaking up so we shall see how long it takes before I crack.

Edmonton has suddenly decided to turn itself into a winter wonderland, and if I was more organized I would be recording this for posterity/to show those boys in Scotland what REAL snow is like. My German roommates got very excited when we got a foot and a half overnight. I was less excited about having to wade to the bus stop... but I have to admit, it's nice to have some proper winter. There is a definite beauty to the sight of snow falling through the glow of a streetlight that I may have missed a tiny bit.

Still going through Edinburgh withdrawl, though. I really need new stockings and I WANT TO GO SHOPPING AT JENNERS. I think I need to look into getting a private jet (or a lot more money and free time so I can go visit!)

Ah well, c'est la vie. I definitely don't like this feeling of being stuck where I am for financial reasons, but as my roommate Lee (who fancies himself one of those inspirational speakers they hire for Rotary meetings) informs me, if you set a goal YOU CAN achieve it. You only need to believe in yourself! My goal is financial domination so I can go do something more interesting (probably by accumulating huge amounts of expensive education of limited usefulness).

It's my day to clean the loo, but yet another roommate (Rene) has something green soaking in the sink. So I will take that as my cue to go to Timmy's instead! (VV gave us each a gift certificate for our hard work on sale day: a very effective method of employee retention, in my books)


backwards ~ onwards

Tell me about it...

(0 comments so far)

Missed anything?
moved! - 2008-05-12
Sunday = time to ramble on - 2008-05-11
apparently I'm doing monthly updates these days. Sorry. - 2008-05-04
watershed - 2008-04-06
end of trip - 2008-03-31

Latest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand